New Jersey PIP Insurance
Personal injury protection (PIP) coverage provides auto accident victims with compensation for their injuries and damages from a collision, including medical bills, lost wages and other damages.
If you have been injured in an auto accident caused by another’s negligence, having PIP coverage may provide you with the compensation you need to recover from your injuries and financial losses. At the Lynch Law Firm, our New Jersey personal injury attorneys have experience helping victims with PIP claims. We will provide you with a free, no obligation consultation to discuss the circumstances behind your accident and help you understand the terms of your PIP coverage.
All of our services are provided on a contingency fee basis. This means we do not charge our clients upfront fees. Our New Jersey auto accident attorneys only require payment if we help you recover fair compensation for your claim. There is no risk in contacting our attorneys to find out if you may be entitled to compensation.
Call (800) 518-0508 to get started today.
What is PIP Insurance?
New Jersey Revised Statutes § 39:6A-4 requires that all New Jersey auto insurance policies include PIP coverage, which provides you and or other passengers in your vehicle compensation after being injured in an auto accident.
PIP coverage is often referred to as “no fault” coverage because it is available regardless of who was at fault for the accident. This means, even if you caused an accident, your injuries will be covered by PIP. It also means that if you are injured in an accident caused by another driver, your injuries will be covered by your own PIP coverage.
There are two types of New Jersey PIP coverage you can purchase:
- Standard policy: Under this policy, you will have minimum coverage of $15,000 per person or $30,000 accident, with the option of purchasing maximum coverage of $250,000 or more for certain injuries.
- Basic policy: This policy provides you with a minimum coverage of $15,000 per person, per accident and up to $250,000 for certain injuries.
The additional allowance of coverage for certain injuries only applies to permanent or significant brain injury, spinal cord injury, disfigurement, or medically necessary treatment of other permanent or significant injuries provided at a trauma center or hospital immediately after an auto accident. The extended coverage will last until your condition is medically stable and no longer requires critical care.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form.
What Does New Jersey PIP Insurance Cover?
New Jersey PIP protection coverage will provide you compensation for your medical treatment and financial losses after an auto accident. Specifically, this includes compensation for:
Depending on the amount of PIP coverage you purchased, you can be compensated for the full cost of your medical services and treatment. This includes reasonable and necessary expenses for:
- Ambulance services
- Medical treatment
- Medical supplies
- Medical tests
- X-ray and medical imaging
- Dental care
- Optical care
- Cost of a caregiver
Motorists who have purchased PIP coverage may obtain compensation for the income they lost while recovering from an auto accident injury.
The amount of compensation you can receive will vary based on the PIP policy you purchased. If you purchased the default minimum $15,000 policy, you will be provided a maximum weekly payment of $100, with a maximum limit of $5,200 on account of injury to any one person in any one accident.
However, you will need to provide your insurer with documented proof that shows you have suffered lost income due to the accident. This includes employment records, such as your paychecks or time cards, which detail your average earnings and the number of hours you typically work each week.
Furthermore, the compensation you receive for lost income will likely extend for as long as your injury has disabled you from working or until your PIP benefits have been exhausted.
Essential Services Benefits
In New Jersey, motorists who purchased PIP coverage are entitled to compensation for essential services benefits if they are injured in an auto accident.
This includes reimbursement for necessary and reasonable expenses incurred for essential services ordinarily performed by the injured victim for his or her self, family and member of the victim’s family residing in his or her household.
Typically, these benefits are limited to $12 per day with a maximum limit of $4,380 for the total period of the disability.
In the event that a victim dies in an auto accident, his or her PIP coverage will pay benefits if the victim was a provider of income to his or her dependents. This may include two types of lump-sum benefits:
- If the decedent was the main income producer, his or her surviving dependents are entitled to payment of the maximum benefit the decedent would have been entitled to for lost income, typically $2,500.
- If the decedent provided essential services, his or her surviving beneficiaries are entitled to payment of the maximum essential service benefits of $4,380.
To receive PIP death benefits, you are not required to show proof of actual loss or actual cost incurred after the decedent’s death. You are only required to show proof that you were financially dependent on the decedent, and that he or she was a provider of essential services.
Furthermore, the decedent’s estate may be entitled to a maximum of $1,000 for expenses related to the decedent’s funeral, burial or cremation.
Call (800) 518-0508 to find speak with an attorney.
Right to Sue
New Jersey is a no-fault state, which means your medical treatment and lost wages will be compensated up to the amount of PIP benefits you purchased in your auto insurance policy. If the cost of your medical treatment or lost wages exceeds your PIP protection limits, you may be able to file a lawsuit against the at-fault party that caused your accident.
Filing a personal injury lawsuit may help you obtain additional compensation for noneconomic damages, like pain and suffering. However, your ability to file a lawsuit depends on the terms of your PIP policy and whether you chose the unlimited or limited right to sue.
Unlimited Right to Sue
If you chose the unlimited right to sue, you will be able to file a lawsuit against the at-fault party liable for your car accident for additional compensation that is not covered by your policy. This may include compensation for:
- Pain and suffering
- Loss of enjoyment of life
- Loss of reputation
- Loss of companionship
Limited Right to Sue
If you chose the limited right to sue option, or purchased a basic policy, you have agreed not to sue the at-fault party who caused your car accident for pain and suffering unless you sustain a permanent injury, such as:
- Loss of a body part
- Permanent injury
- Traumatic brain damage
- Spinal cord injury
- Disfigurement or scarring
- Displaced fracture
- Loss of a fetus
However, choosing the limited right to sue option does not affect your ability to file a lawsuit for economic damages, such as medical expenses and lost wages.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form to find out if you have a case.
Schedule a Free Consultation with the Lynch Law Firm
If you have been injured in an auto accident caused by another’s negligence, it may be in your best interest to contact an experienced attorney to discuss your claim.
To find out if you are receiving the PIP benefits you need after an accident, contact Lynch Law Firm to schedule a free, no obligation consultation. Our attorneys have helped numerous car accident victims obtain the compensation they deserve and will use our knowledge and experience to help you with your claim.
Because we are dedicated to helping our clients obtain the results they deserve, we do not charge upfront legal fees for our services. We work on a contingency fee basis and only require payment if we are able to obtain compensation for your claim.
Call (800) 518-0508 to find out if you are entitled to compensation.
Free Case Review
Lynch Law Firm
Hasbrouck Heights, NJ 07604
Car Accidents News