Ignition Interlock Devices Make Drunk Drivers Think Twice
Posted on behalf of Lynch Law Firm on February 2, 2017 in Car Accident News. Updated on March 2, 2022
A recent study by the John Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health revealed that traffic fatalities have declined by seven percent in states that require ignition interlock devices for first-time drunk driving convictions.
The results indicate that drivers may think twice about getting behind the wheel after drinking if their state requires an ignition interlock. These devices require a driver blow into a breathalyzer-like device before starting a vehicle. If any amount of alcohol is detected on the breath, the vehicle will not start.
This study is the first of its kind to provide evidence that interlock laws prevent alcohol-related crashes. It analyzed data from states that have ignition interlock laws, taking into account data from the five years before and after the laws went into place between the late 1980s and 2013.
Some states only require the devices for repeat offenders or for drivers who had a high blood alcohol content. Twenty-two require them for first-time convictions.
If you have been injured or lost a loved one due to a drunk driver, contact the Lynch Law Firm today. Our New Jersey car accident attorneys will evaluate the circumstances of your claim and advise you of your legal options.
New Jersey law allows for an ignition interlock device to be installed for first time offenders for at least six months after the person’s license suspension has ended. Second-time offenders are required to use an ignition interlock for one to three years.
More than one third of the 35,092 fatal collisions that occurred in 2015 involved a driver who was under the influence. Of those crashes, 29 percent of drivers were legally drunk and 20 percent had a blood alcohol content twice the legal limit or more.
Call a New Jersey personal injury lawyer from the Lynch Law Firm (800) 518-0508 for a free, no obligation consultation.